top of page

Interview with a PhD student from the Food Science & Agricultural Chemistry Department at MAC

Interviewee: Ms. Wut Hmone Phue

Interviewer: Estee Ngew


1. What is the current research you’re working on? What are the one that has successfully been published? Benefits of the outcome of your research?

I am currently studying the impacts of using nanomaterials as a food additive. My research focuses on understanding the change in physicochemical properties of nanomaterials as food additives during the food processing operations, and how it affects the functional properties of biomolecules. I have published a paper regarding the transformation of physicochemical properties of silica nanoparticles as food additives when different heating conditions are provided, and the inhibition activity of these particles to the functional properties of trypsin. My studies will contribute to understanding the safety aspect of using nanomaterials as food additives in food products.


2. How’s a day of your typical life as a graduate student?

As a graduate student, I spend most of my time on my research work. On a typical day, you would find me doing experiments during the daytime while I analyze the datas and review more research papers at night.


3. What made you opt dive into graduate studies, instead of working in the industry after your bachelors?

Upon completing my undergraduate studies, I have found a strong passion in doing research and it excites me as I find new things as I present hands on experiment in labs. I would say that my passion and enthusiasm for research is what drives my decision to do graduate studies.


4. How long have you been doing your graduate studies? What are your plans after you graduate?

I have been almost 7 years for my graduate studies including masters and PhD. After my PhD, I am planning to do post-doc in research institutes or a university to continue my passion in research.


5. A lot of graduate students had a problem of stress and often leads to crucial mental health issue. What was your approach? Was the process throughout your life as a graduate researcher stressful?

As a graduate student, I also have certain amount of stress level, but the key is that I was able balance my research work and my social life. In addition, I am fortunate enough to have a supportive family, supervisor and friends whom helps me relief my stress. Sometimes I take a break from school-related work like hanging out with my friends or cooking some special food to treat myself. I find it important to set achievable goals, and reward and treat yourself from time to time after you’ve reached it. ☺

Written by: Estee Ngew (U3 Food Science Student)



58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page